We’ll ride through the city tonight

“I see the stars come out of the sky. Yeah, the bright and hollow sky” Iggy Pop, The Passenger

I’m not a devoted Iggy Pop fan, I haven’t listened to The Stooges much either… but The Passenger is one of my favorite songs. For some reason it gets me going, every time I listen to it I want to get up, scream along the la la la la la’s and just kind of bounce along from one place to another. I would’ve loved to have played the role of David Bowie who sings back-up during the chorus! Which is why writing this post is proving more difficult than expected.

“Yeah the bright and hollow sky. You know it looks so good tonight”

In all truth the difficulty for writing this post is that this song during the last 10 years of my life this song has been everywhere and for some strange reason I’ve mostly kept it to myself. I know I’ve listened to it with my brother a few times, it’s made its way onto mix-tapes/cds for some road trips with friends, but the memories I have of this song are of me listening to it by myself. While in my last post I argued that Neil Young sings about her in Cowgirl in the Sand, this song is all about the first person singular, and I love it. That’s why it’s so contagious.

“I am the passenger and I ride and I ride.”

It’s true the song later goes on to talk about the we and the “stars made for us tonight”, but I don’t really buy it. I think that comes in when the song already has you worked up about yourself, your alleged free spirit and how you’re riding along through the city’s lights. I’m sure many see it a different way, but that’s always been my feeling whenever I’ve listened to it. I like it this way too…

“I ride through the city’s backsides. I see the stars come out of the sky.”

I have to admit I’ve tried listening to this song with some of my girlfriends to see if they like it… not a single one of them has. Mostly I’ve gotten indifferent reactions. Perhaps it’s that in a relationship the idea of being a passenger is a no-no (when everything is going well), but I think I’ve been with girls who deserve more credit than that. I think it’s as simple as everybody having a song that for whatever reason pumps them up, but these songs have to be discovered in a way that you can be absorbed by them. It doesn’t work if somebody just plays it for you. That works for the Dylans, Cohens et al, but not for Iggy Pop and The Passenger. It’s too raw, too energetic. You can’t share that, what are we crazy? 

“So let’s ride and ride and ride and ride. Oh, oh, Singing la la la la lalalala!”

7 thoughts on “We’ll ride through the city tonight

  1. Great post. It’s always interesting to hear how music affects others, the place it holds in their lives. I have my own ‘mix list’ of songs that, like this one for you, transfix me to a point(s) in time regardless of when I hear them. This one is catchy and deceptively complex. Point of view shifts, tone of voice changes, too, from casual statements to coarse declarations. First there’s the observer, then ther observer’s observer, then they join in the ‘we’. I get in my mind the image of two mirrors facing each other, reflecting each other to infinity. Or a picture within a picture within a picture. A very interesting lyrical puzzle…and a pretty cool song in the meantime. Thanks for sharing it, and your personal observations, too. Cheers!

  2. Great song- great post! You’re right. It’s impossible to here this song without, at the very least, tap your foot or bob your head. And I defy anyone to actually get through the la-la-la’s without joining in.

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog lifesmissingpieces and liking my last post. I have enjoyed reading your perspectives on music.

Leave a Reply

