Trying to please to the calling

“Well, it’s a marvelous night for a Moondance. With the stars up above in your eyes” Van Morrison, Moondance

A few months ago I asked my girlfriend a very simple question: How many men (ex-boyfriends, admirers, flings, friends…) have told you that the song Brown Eyed Girl Reminds them of you?

“A fantabulous night to make romance, ‘Neath the cover of October skies”

She laughed, digressed a little bit saying she liked the song and then kind of insinuated that a few might have. I’m sure they have, she’s a pretty girl with dark eyes. I didn’t get the number, but my guess would be no less than 3. I can’t blame them really, Van Morrison released an incredible song with the overall message being “you’re my brown eyed girl”, what else needs to be said? Somebody should try to measure the amount of sex that Van Morrison has brought to this world, perhaps only rivaled by the amount induced by Leonard Cohen. Aren’t people at MIT looking into this? Undoubtedly there’s a significant group of guys out there who should send out a collective ‘thank you’ to Van Morrison. I’m definitely one of them, but not because of Brown Eyed Girl.

“And all the leaves on the trees are falling, To the sound of the breezes that blow”

I have never, never, never used the Brown Eyed Girl line and I think every woman should roll their eyes if they ever heard it used on them, but then again who am I to judge. I’d probably love it if somebody told me I remind them of Neil Diamond’s Solitary Man, Lynyrd Skynyrd’s Free Bird or the Highwaymen’s Highwayman. So let’s just all say thank you, thank the artists in question and, most importantly… enjoy the sex or at least get a kick out of somebody rolling their eyes at us. Hopefully it’s the first, but the latter can be fun too.

“And when you come my heart will be waiting. To make sure that you’re never alone”

I know I need to thank Van Morrison, but in my case for Moondance. It’s been my favorite/go-to romantic song for years, as well as my favorite Van Morrison song in general. I first heard it as a teenager in the 90’s when my father bought one of his greatest hits CD that featured Moondance (third track). Although I didn’t start to really like him until several years later, when I began driving and I picked up that same CD to listen to in the car. I remember at the time I was using my grandfather’s car which he wasn’t using anymore. It was 20 years old at the time and it’s still running today, it’s as boxy a car as cars get… and for some reason it has a CD player my grandfather decided to have installed. Inside that shitty car without power steering I discovered how good Van Morrison was, and in the upcoming years discovered the seductive powers of Moondance. I don’t think I’ve used those seductive powers much to my advantage, but I definitely discovered they were there. Ripe for the picking, pro bono courtesy of Van Morrison. Well, not really pro bono at the time, but for the moderate price of 15 bucks.

“Can I just have one a’ more Moondance with you, my love. Can I just make some more romance with a-you, my love”

12 thoughts on “Trying to please to the calling

  1. I completely agree – Brown-Eyed Girl is so overdone. I dated one dark-eyed girl, and luckily I avoided that one! I do love this song, though; I first heard it in the movie “October Sky” (Was that the name of it, actually?). Well-said

      • Oh nice, well that sounds interesting. October Sky is a good movie, if you enjoy musicals (it’s not overdone, mind you).

  2. Ah, I might be the odd comment out on this one, because I love Van Morrison…especially Brown Eyed Girl. :) I remember a guy singing it to my mom once, and she didn’t act very put out at all. They play it a ton back home (U.S.) especially on the classics stations, and Days Like This is much the same. Tupelo Honey (the song) is perhaps the closest to my heart because the lyrics remind me of home, and hearing Morrison croon out the words reminds me of my childhood in the best ways.

    Ruckie

  3. Oh, my goodness . . . you just made me realize I neglected to put this song in my list of favorite titillating tunes. Going to remedy that right now. This song is so sexy. I have to say that I love Into the Mystic equally though. The lyrics aren’t as sexy on the surface, but more nuanced, an abiding, deep affection and love, but the sound and the gentle music make it an optimal love-making song.
    And I would definitely have to agree with the Leonard Cohen assertion. That man can definitely raise the humidity . . .

  4. ‘Into the Mystic’ was my favorite songs on the original album. It carried me to some beautiful heights.

Leave a Reply

